Coconut French Toast with Caramelised Bananas

I love going out for breakfast. I mean I love going out for lunch and dinner too, but there’s something about eating at a cafe for the first meal of the day that is extra appealing. Part of it is definitely that breakfast practically has to go with a coffee order (any excuse will do), but another is the extra helping of inspiration each meal serves.

I almost always leave a cafe thinking about how I could recreate the dish I just ate in my own kitchen. The same cannot be said for lunch and dinner when I will normally order things I have no capacity of cooking at home: crispy-skinned duck, pork belly… I’m not sure where you would even buy the ingredients for most of my favourite restaurant dinners. But I look at a breakfast menu and think: “I bet I could make that – and it wouldn’t cost me $18.90 either”.

This is a recipe inspired by a dish at a cafe I like, with the base swapped from pancakes to French toast (because I had nice bread that was going stale) and coconut thrown in for good measure. This recipe serves one, but could very easily be doubled, tripled or even quadrupled – just be wary you’ll probably need two pans. Also I apologise, there is no photo because I simply couldn’t wait to eat it!

Ingredients

Toast:
2 large 2cm thick slices of sourdough bread (or any bread you like)
1 egg
1 1/2 tablespoons desiccated coconut
2 tablespoons milk (any kind)
1 stick of stevia or 1 teaspoon of sugar
pinch of cinnamon

Banana topping:
1 large ripe banana, sliced
1 teaspoon rice malt syrup (or honey or maple syrup)
6 almonds/walnuts, chopped

Heat a teaspoon of coconut oil (or butter) in a pan over a medium-high heat.
Whisk together the egg, milk, coconut, stevia and cinnamon in a bowl.
Dip bread in egg mixture one slice at a time, allowing the bread enough time to get soggy.
Place bread slices on pan and cook for 2 minutes, or until golden, before turning.
Add sliced banana to pan, adding a bit more coconut oil if necessary.
Drizzle syrup and sprinkle chopped nuts on bananas and sautee bananas for the two minutes the other side of the bread will take to brown. (Don’t worry if the banana goes mushy – it won’t affect the flavour.)
Serve the toast onto a plate and top with bananas.

Tip: At the cafe, the pancakes were also topped with more syrup and icecream. I didn’t find it necessary, but for extra egravagance, go ahead!

Leave a Reply

